2012-2013 Board of Directors

Officers

Paige E. Smith, Ph.D.
President (July 1, 2012)
University of Maryland
Director, Women in Engineering
A. James Clark School of Engineering
1131 Glenn L. Martin Hall
College Park, MD 20742
Phone: 301-405-3931      
Fax: 301-314-9867 
Email: pesmith@umd.edu

Glenda La Rue
Past-President (July 1, 2012)
Director, Women in Engineering Program
The Ohio State University
122 Hitchcock Hall, 2070 Neil Avenue
Columbus, OH 43210
Phone: 614.688.4137      
Fax: 614.292.9379
Email:glendaplarue@gmail.com

Karen Zunkel, Ph.D.
President-Elect
Director, Program for Women in Science and Engineering
Iowa State University 
210 Lab of Mechanics
Ames, IA 50011
Phone: 515-294-4317
Fax: 515-294-8627
Email:kzunkel@iastate.edu

Elizabeth Litzler, Ph.D. 
Secretary 
Director For Research, Center For Workforce Development
University of Washington
Phone: 206-543-4810       
Email:elitzler@u.washington.edu

Sara Xayarath Hernandez
Treasurer
Director Diversity |
Programs in Engineering 
Cornell University
146 Olin Hall
Ithaca, NY 14853
Phone:607.255.0979
Fax:607.255.2834
Email:sh267@cornell.edu

Directors

Susan Arnold-Christian
Director of Professional Development
Diversity Advancement Committee Liaison
Assistant Director, Center for Enhancement of Engineering Diversity
Virginia Tech
215 Hancock Hall (0275)
Virginia Tech
Blacksburg, Virginia 24061
Phone:(540) 231-3973
Fax:(540) 231-1831
Email: susanac@vt.edu

 
Carlie S Bower
Director of Communications
Communications Advisory Committee Liaison
Software Engineer
AIX Operating System Development
IBM
11501 Burnet Rd
Austin, TX 78758
Phone: (512) 286-5423            
Email: carlie@us.ibm.com
 
Lily Gossage
Director of Diversity Advancement
Diversity Advancement Committee Liaison
Research Associate
Office of Engineering Educational Research & Assessment 
California State University, Long Beach (CSULB)
Phone: (562) 985-2653      
Email: lily.gossage@csulb.edu
 
Mary Juhas, Ph.D.
Director of Strategic Partnerships 
Associate Dean Diversity & Outreach 
The Ohio State University
2070 Neil Avenue
Columbus, OH 43210
Phone:(614) 688-8239            
Fax: (614) 292-9615
Email: juhas.1@osu.edu
 
Klod Kokini, Ph.D.
Faculty Member at Large
Awards Committee Liaison
Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
Professor of Mechanical Engineering
College of Engineering
Purdue University
West Lafayette, IN
Email: kokini@purdue.edu
 
Suzie Laurich-McIntyre, Ph.D.
Director of Membership
Assistant Vice Provost for Graduate Education
Carnegie Mellon University
5000 Forbes Avenue
533 Warner hall
Pittsburgh, PA 15213
Phone: (412) 268-7307            
Fax: (412) 268-6159
E:mail: suzannel@andrew.cmu.edu
 
Beverly Louie, Ph.D.
WIE Member-at-Large
Knowledge Center Committee Liaison
Director, Teaching & Learning Initiatives
BOLD Center (Broadening Opportunity through Leadership and Diversity)
University of Colorado, Boulder 
Phone: (303) 492-4967       
Email: beverly.louie@colorado.edu
 
C. Diane Matt, CAE
Ex-Officio
Executive Director
WEPAN, Inc.
1901 E. Asbury Avenue
Suite 220
Denver, CO 80210
Phone:(303) 871-4643            
Fax: (303) 871-6833
Email: dmatt@wepan.org
 
Michael Merritt, Ph.D.
Ex-Officio
Executive Director
Network Design and Analysis Research Department
AT&T Labs
Room A119
180 Park Ave
P.O. Box 971
Florham Park, NJ 07932-0971 
Phone: (973) 360 8710            
Fax: (973) 360 8871
Email: michaelmerritt@att.com
 
Linda Snow-Solum
Industry Member at Large 
Corporate Relations Committee Liaison
Senior Director of Engineering Infrastructure Development & Lean
Rockwell-Collins
400 Collins Road NE
m/s 108-265
Cedar Rapids, IA 52498
Phone: (319) 295-8276            
Email: lssnow@rockwellcollins.com