Congratulations 2017 Award Winners

The Women in Engineering ProActive Network (WEPAN) presented the 2017 WEPAN Awards on June 13 at the WEPAN 2017 Change Leader Forum in Westminster, CO.

The prestigious WEPAN Awards honor key individuals, programs, and organizations for accomplishments that underscore WEPAN's mission. Honorees demonstrate extraordinary service, significant achievement, model programs, and exemplary work environments that promote a culture of inclusion and the success of women in engineering. Click on each name of the award to learn more.

Download the 2017 WEPAN Awards Program

Inclusive Culture and Equity Award
The Inclusive Culture and Equity Award honors an individual or group who has developed and implemented successful inclusive practices, policies or initiatives that promotes positive change with regard to the climate or culture for women in engineering fields at his/her institution.
2017 Award Recipients (2): DiOnetta Jones Crayton, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2017 Award Recipients (2): Dr. Joyce Yen, University of Washington>
Leader in Engineering Education Award
The Leader in Engineering Education Award honors faculty, groups or individuals who have created new methods or approaches to enhance engineering education. The award encompasses pedagogical methods, creating course frameworks, and/or effective teaming practices to engage and create an inclusive environment for engineering undergraduate students.
2017 Award Recipient: Leon R. Grant, III, Marietta City Schools Engineering Pipeline
Advocates and Allies Award
The Advocates and Allies Award honors a man or group of men for mentoring, supporting and advocating for the success of women in engineering, or for climate and culture change that supports such success.
2017 Award Recipient: Dr. Klod Kokini, Purdue University
Industry Trailblazer Award
The Industry Trailblazer Award recognizes and honors an employer or an individual or group of employees in industry who enhance the career success of women in STEM (science, technology, engineering and math) professionals, especially women identifying with underrepresented groups.
2017 Award Recipient: Paula Golden, Broadcom Foundation
Strategic Partner Award
The Strategic Partner Award recognizes a professional organization that has partnered to promote WEPAN’s mission and work during the previous three years.
2017 Award Recipient: National Academy of Engineering
Betty Vetter Award for Research
The Betty Vetter Award for Research recognizes notable achievement in research related to women in engineering. The award is named in memory of Betty M. Vetter, long time director of the Commission on Professionals in Science and Technology, who served as the first treasurer of WEPAN, Inc. and was a founding member of the Board of Directors.
2017 Award Recipient: Dr. Julie Martin, Clemson University
Women in Engineering Initiative Award
The Women in Engineering Initiative Award recognizes an outstanding project or initiative that serves as a model for other institutions.
2017 Award Recipients (2): Cornell University, Women's Outreach in Materials, Energy, and Nanobiotechnology
2017 Award Recipients (2): University of Calgary, Cybermentor Program
WEPAN and DiscoverE Girl Day Award
WEPAN and the DiscoverE Foundation work together to recognize organizations and individuals for empowering girls with information about opportunities in engineering through the “Introduce a Girl to Engineering Day” initiative. The WEPAN/DiscoverE Girl Day Award is selected by the DiscoverE Foundation.
2017 Award Recipient: NASA Kennedy Space Center
Founders Award
The Founders Award honors a WEPAN member who exemplifies the spirit of the WEPAN founders through her/his individual service that has made a significant impact for the organization. The award is named for the three founders of WEPAN, Inc. - Suzanne G. Brainard, Jane Zimmer Daniels and Susan Staffin Metz.
2017 Award Recipient: Dr. Stephanie G. Adams, Old Dominion University
Bevlee A. Watford Inclusive Excellence Award
The Bevlee A. Watford Inclusive Excellence Award honors individuals or groups who actively and creatively support the success of women of color in engineering at the undergraduate, graduate, faculty, and/or administrative levels. The award is named in honor of Past WEPAN President Dr. Bevlee A. Watford of Virginia Tech, who has served as a strong advocate for women of color in engineering, held a variety of engineering leadership roles in academia, as well as professional and governmental organizations, and displays extraordinary ongoing commitment to advancing the success of women and students of color in engineering.
2017 Award Recipient: Dr. Christine Grant, North Carolina State University
President's Award
The President's Award is given at the discretion of the WEPAN President and recognizes exemplary accomplishment by individuals or groups who have made significant contributions to WEPAN's goals and objectives.
2017 Award Recipient: North Dakota State University (NDSU) Advance FORWARD Advocates and Allies
View past WEPAN Award winners here
WEPAN Home Awards Past WEPAN Conferences Become a Member Donate to WEPAN