Donate   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join
Wayne Jones (July 2014-June 2016)
Share |

J. Wayne Jones is an Arthur F. Thurnau Professor of Materials Science and Engineering. He holds a Ph.D. in materials science from Vanderbilt University.


His research interests focus on developing an understanding of structure-property relationships in advanced structural materials for automotive and aerospace applications.  His work has centered on the fatigue and creep behavior of aluminum alloys, particulate strengthened aluminum matrix composites, titanium and titanium aluminides and more recently on new magnesium alloys.  His research group is currently focusing on development of new instrumentation and techniques for studying the fatigue behavior of structural materials in the very high cycle fatigue regime using ultrasonic fatigue.


He served as Associate Dean for Undergraduate Education in the College of Engineering from 1996 to 2001 and as interim chair of MSE in 1992.  From 2008 to 2013 he was the associate director of the ADVANCE Program at UM. He served as president of TMS in 1999 and has served on the boards of directors of TMS and the American Institute of Mining, Metallurgical and Petroleum Engineers (AIME).  He was elected a fellow of ASM International in 2000. In 2007 he received the Harold H. Johnson Diversity Award from the University of Michigan. In 2010 he received ASM International’s Alfred Easton White Distinguished Teacher Award, the societies highest honor for materials science teaching excellence. In 2011 he and his co-authors were awarded the Champion H. Mathewson Medal for "Microstructural Influences on Very-High-Cycle Fatigue-Crack Initiation in Ti-6246” published in Metallurgical and Materials Transactions A, in 2008.

J. Wayne Jones

Arthur F. Thurnau Professor

Department of Materials Science and Engineering

University of Michigan

more Calendar

The upcoming calendar is currently empty.

Click here to view past events and photos »

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal